UP cabinet: 10 Muslims among 47 ministers

By TCN News,

Lucknow: Muslims who voted en bloc for Samajwadi Party in the recent Uttar Pradesh assembly elections have got 21% representation in the council of ministers of Akhilesh Yadav who took oath as the youngest chief minister of the largest state of India on Thursday. Besides Akhilesh, 47 ministers took oath – 10 of them are Muslims.

Uttar Pradesh Governor Mr. B.L. Joshi on 15th March appointed Mr. Akhilesh Yadav as the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh and administered the oath of office and secrecy to him in a hugely attended function here on Thursday.

Mohammad Azam Khan (extreme left) and others taking oath as Minister of new UP Government on 15th March 2012 in Lucknow

On this occasion the Governor also appointed 19 cabinet and 28 State ministers with the consultation of newly appointed chief minister and administered to them the oath of office and secrecy.

SP supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav and his son CM Akhilesh have given good representation to the minority community in the new council of ministers.

Among 19 cabinet ministers, there are 3 Muslims, that is 16%. They include senior party leader Mohd. Azam Khan. However, the representation is better among state ministers. There are 7 Muslims among 28 state ministers, that is 25%. The SP has inducted 23% of the Muslim MLAs elected on its ticket.

Samajwadi Party has won 224 seats in 403-member assembly. Of 224 there are 43 Muslims. In all, 68 Muslims have won this assembly election.

Samajwadi Party – 43
Bahujan Samaj Party – 15
Indian National Congress – 4
Peace Party – 3
Quami Ekta Dal — 2
Ittehad-E-Millat Council – 1

19 Cabinet Ministers
Mr. Mohd. Azam Khan
Mr. Ahmad Hasan
Dr. Waqar Ahamad Shah
Mr. Shiv Pal Singh Yadav
Raja Mahendra Aridaman Singh
Mr. Anand Singh
Mr. Ambika Chaudhary
Mr. Raghuraj Pratap Singh ‘Raja Bhaiyya’
Mr. Balram Yadav
Mr. Awadhesh Prasad
Mr. Om Prakash Singh
Mr. Paras Nath Yadav
Mr. Ram Govind Chaudhary
Mr. Durga Prasad Yadav
Mr. Brahma Shankar Tripathi
Mr. Kameshwar Upadhyay
Mr. Rajaram Pandey
Mr. Rajkishor Singh
Mr. Shivkumar Beria.

28 State Ministers
Mr. Iqbal Mahmood
Mr. Mahboob Ali
Mr. Shahid Manzoor
Mr. Riyaz Ahmad
Mr. Farid Mahfooz Kidwai
Mr. Waseem Ahmad
Mr. Kamaal Akhtar
Mr. Narendra Singh Yadav
Mr. Shiv Pratap Yadav
Mr. Rajendra Singh Rana
Mr. Moolchandra Chauhan
Mr. Arvind Kumar Singh Gope
Mr. Rajeev Kumar Singh
Mr. Abhishek Mishra
Mr. Vinod Kumar Singh Pandit Singh
Mr. Bhagwat Sharan Gangwar
Mr. Narendra Verma
Mr. Ram Murti Verma
Mr. Surendra Singh Patel
Mr. Chitranjan Swarup
Mr. Manpal Singh Verma
Mr. Shankhlal Majhi
Mr. Kailash Chaurasia
Mr. Rampal Rajvanshi
Mr. Manoj Paras
Mr. Ramkaran Arya
Mrs. Aruna Kumari Kori
Mr. Jagdish Sonkar

(Photo- courtesy Dept. of Information & Public Relations, Govt. of Uttar Pradesh)