देश में सूखा: मरते इंसान, बेबस सरकार

मोहम्मद आसिफ़ इक़बाल

In the lanes of Batla House, a mission to empower women

By Sadia Suhail for

New Delhi: The narrow, dingy lanes of Batla House in Delhi may not look the most appealing for a walk. But for hundreds of women, the maze created by these lanes unravels at a small house, otherwise known as the office of Shikhar Organisation for Social Development (SOSD). Since 2001, Shikhar, founded by Nadeem Akhtar (CEO), has been working to empower the vulnerable sections of the society by cultivating skills in them through vocational training, educational programmes, computer training, health camps, safety camps, etc.

Celebrating Hazrat Ali in Bangalore

By Nigar Ataulla for

Here is the evidence against Purohit in Samjhauta blasts

By Special Correspondent,,

Even at a time when the strong evidence exists and the custodial interrogation of Col. Shrikant Purohit is pending, National Investigation Agency (NIA) has declared he is not involved in Samjhauta blast case.

“There is no proof against him in Samjhauta blast case. He was never an accused. I wonder why his name is being linked to Samjhauta blast case,” NIA Director General Sharad Kumar said on Tuesday.

Primed for change, but only 3.2 percent Assamese have Aadhaar card

By Chaitanya Mallapur

A 65-year-old citizenship issue, reflecting the strains of migration, has resulted in no more than 3.2 percent of Assam's population being enrolled in Aadhaar, India’s biometrics-based unique identity system, the world’s largest.

Voting in Assam has concluded (results are scheduled for May 19th) and the new government will inherit a state with some of India’s lowest development indicators – the country’s highest maternal mortality, the worst infant mortality; low literacy ranking (26th of 35 states/union territories) – and growing aspirations.

Man-made Drought in Maharashtra

By Dr. Parvez Mandviwala for,

Drought is an extended period of months or years when a region notes a deficiency in its water supply- whether surface or underground water. A drought can have serious implications on the agricultural, social, economical and health balance of the concerned area.

In Maharashtra, today, 15 districts are affected by drought. Solapur, Ahmadnagar, Satara, Beed, Nashik, Latur, Nanded, Aurangabad, Jalna and Osmanabad are among the worst affected. The number of villages so affected is an alarming 12000!

In Meghalaya, end of mining activity has workers facing an uncertain future

By Amit Kumar,

To Heaven and Back

By Shalim M Hussain

As campaigning for the 2016 Assam assembly polls was gaining steam in the warm and wet spring, Sunny and his friends Hanif and Asad got caught in a trafficking ring. The three schoolboys from Kamrup (rural) district of Assam had just appeared for the Class tenth board exams and were visiting Asad’s mother in Hajo, a small town on the outskirts of Guwahati when they ran into Rabi and Khorshed, two labour contractors. The men were touring the villages on the periphery of Hajo recruiting boys, some as young as nine years old, for jobs in Shimla.

Bengal polls throw up a leadership crisis

By Amitava Mukherjee

Never before in the political history of West Bengal has there been such an acute leadership crisis cutting across political spectrums as is now being witnessed in the midst of the assembly elections.

While the BJP and the Left parties suffer from absence of any worthwhile leader, Mamata Banerjee's leadership quality is also under question in the wake of allegations of corruption against some Trinamul Congress(TMC) leaders in the Saradha chit fund case and the Narada sting operation and her continuous flip-flops on the issue.

States must be brought on board for visionary e-NAM initiative

By Amit Kapoor

Agriculture is a critical sector of the Indian economy. This is because, in spite of its relatively low and declining contribution to the GDP, the sector provides direct or indirect employment to more than half of the Indian work force. There are many factors which have an overall bearing on the sector which can be broadly clubbed as input side factors and output side factors.