Home International Nepalese Nominees Presented to Assembly

Nepalese Nominees Presented to Assembly

By Prensa Latina,

Kathmandu : Nepal’s political parties submitted their nominees for 335 Constituency Assembly seats to the Election Commission on Friday according to party size and with balanced gender, community and ethnic representation.

These 335 seats are added to the 240 elected directly April 10, plus 26 the prime minister will assign to have a total 601 seat Constituent Assembly.

The assembly will bring an end to a 240 year feudal monarchy and declare Nepal a democratic federal republic with a new government.

The Communist Party of Nepal (CPN-M) that led a 10 year armed struggle against the monarchy decided to trade bullets for votes in 2006 and won the majority with 220 assembly seats.

The CPN-M leads the Congress Party’s 107 seats, the Unified Marxist-Leninists Communists (100), the Forum of the Madhesi People (44), plus regional and minority groups and independents.

The CPN-M is led by Pushpa Kamal Dahal a Sitaram Yechury, an Indian congressman who pledged to work to set up a coalition government.

He was a prominent mediator of the pact for a truce and a 12-point accord the CPN-M arranged in 2006 with the Seven Party Alliance.