Home International Myanmar declares five regions disaster zones

Myanmar declares five regions disaster zones


Yangon, Myanmar : Myanmar’s state-run television says Five regions including Yangon have been declared disaster zones after Tropical Cyclone Nargis packing winds up to 190-kilometers-per hour (120-mph) hit the country.

The Myaddy television station says Yangon, Irrawaddy, Bago as well as Karen and Mon states all were heavily damaged by Saturday’s cyclone. Witnesses said the storm knocked out electricity to much of Yangon and disrupted both Internet and phone service.

The government has yet to provide any information on casualties, the Associated Press reported.