Home Art/Culture Indian Cinema has lost its tradition: Muzaffar Ali

Indian Cinema has lost its tradition: Muzaffar Ali

By Pervez Bari, TwoCircles.net,

Bhopal: Noted film producer and director Muzaffar Ali has said that films are the powerful media to revolutionize the society. Lamenting the present scenario of the film, he said that Indian Cinema has lost its tradition and sub standard films as been being produced.

Muzaffar Ali was addressing the prize distribution ceremony of National Film Festival of Short Films and Documentaries ‘Filmsaaz’ 09”. He said that the films produced by the AMU students show a ray of hope and I am sure they will become the iconic directors of future cinema like Satyajeet Ray and Shyam Benegal.

According to Zeeshan Ahmad, AMU’s Assistant Public Relations Officer, the prize distribution ceremony witnessed a colourful accreditation of films produced by AMU students. In the Animation category the best award went to “Kya Farq Padta Hai” and “Child’s Play”. The Best Documentary award was bagged by “Jab Bhagwan Bheek Mangta Hai”. In the best short film category the prize went to “Naanum”. Best Screenplay and Best Short Film award was also received by “Naanum”. Best Sound Effect, best Special Effect and Best Cinematography awards were lifted by the “Forbidden Story”.

Under the young participant awards category several awards were given away by the luminary Muzaffar Ali. Best Animation award went to “Garbage Can” by Maxmedia, Aligarh. Best Documentary award went to “Outlines of Darkness” by Yasir Ali Mirza. Best Music Video award went to “The Tarana: A Tribute to Majaz” by Asad Waseem and Ghulam Jeelani. Best Short Film award went to “Boond” by Shagufta Parveen and Zehra Naqvi. Best Original Story award went to “Passbook: A Special Gift” by Asmer Khan and Asia Parveen. Best Cinematography award went to “Hidden Fools” by Shahzad Alam. Best Lyrics award went to Sujoy Banerjee and Ritwik Ghosh for “Glad to be Alive”. Best Dialogue award went to Sabir Ali for “Hum Hain”. Best Actor award went to Naved Aslam for “Hum Hain” and Best Actress award went to Zehra Naqvi for “Jannat”. Best Director award went to Sahgufta Parveen and Zehra Naqvi for “Boond”. Best Supporting Actor went to Zayed Khan for “Hum Hain” and Best Supporting Actress award went to Rubana for “Boond”. Best Screenplay award went to Shakoor Ahmad Lone for “Jannat”. Best Editing award went to Pankaj Bhatnagar for “A Passbook : A Special Gift”. Best Special Effects award went to Faraz Khan for “Champu Cheetah”. Best Background Score award went to Zill-ur-Rahman Haider and Zargham Murtaza for “Mahatama”. Best Slide Show award went to Maxmedia, Aligarh and Nabeel Shahid Rizvi for “Whom I and We Will Not Go Down Gaza Tonight”.

Prof. P. K. Abdul Azis, Vice Chancellor, Aligarh Muslim University, Prof. M. Z. Khan, Dean Faculty of Science, Prof. Abul Kalam Qasmi, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Dr. M. Shafey Kidwai also gave away prizes to the winners.

Dr. F. S. Sheerani conducted the programme and Mohammad Adil Husain proposed the vote of thanks. ([email protected])