Home Sports Pakistan has no security concern in Sri Lanka

Pakistan has no security concern in Sri Lanka


Karachi : Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) will not review the security arrangements in Sri Lanka ahead of the summer series between the two countries.

The PCB chairman Ijaz Butt Thursday said Pakistan has complete faith in the security arrangements in Sri Lanka for the series in July-August.

Pakistan will play three Tests, five one-day internationals and a Twenty20 international on the tour.

This is Pakistan’s first full series in over 20 months and the first between the two countries since the aborted series in Pakistan in March after the Sri Lankan team bus was attacked by the terrorists.

When asked whether Pakistani cricketers would be at risk in Sri Lanka especially in the aftermath of the attack on the Sri Lankan cricketers in Lahore, Butt said: “The Sri Lankan cricketers were targeted by terrorists. Our players will go there as ambassadors of peace and I’m sure that the series will take place smoothly.”

Butt said he will be leaving for Sri Lanka Thursday to meet the top officials of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC). He said the purpose of the visit is to enlist SLC support for Pakistan to regain its status as 2011 World Cup joint hosts.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) moved World Cup matches from Pakistan last month because of security apprehensions. The PCB has sent a legal notice to the ICC against the ruling.

Pakistan is scheduled to arrive in Sri Lanka June 27, just after the end of the Twenty 20 World Cup in England.

The first Test against Sri Lanka will be played July 4-8 at Galle, while the second Test is at the Paikiasothy Saravanamuttu Stadium in Colombo July 12. The third Test will begin at the Sinhalese Sports Club, July 20.

The teams will then travel to Dambulla for the first three one-dayers July 30, August 1 and August 3 before returning to Colombo for the last two one-dayers August 7 and 9. The one-off Twenty20 international is scheduled to be played at the Premadasa Stadium August 12.