Home India News Milestones in Indira Gandhi’s life

Milestones in Indira Gandhi’s life


New Delhi : Milestones in Indira Gandhi’s life:

Nov 19, 1917: Indira is born

1938: Joins Indian National Congress

1942: Marries Feroze Gandhi

Sep 11, 1942: Couple is imprisoned at Naini Central jail, Allahabad, on charges of subversion

1947-1964: Remains with her father Jawaharlal Nehru as hostess and close supporter

1947: Under Mahatma Gandhi’s instructions, Indira Gandhi works in riot-affected areas of Delhi.

1953-57: Serves as chairman of the Central Social Welfare Board

1955: Becomes member of Congress Working Committee and Central Election Committee

1956: Becomes member of Central Parliamentary Board

1956-60: Becomes president of Youth Congress

1960: Feroze Gandhi, her husband, dies

1964: Nehru, her father, dies

1964: Elected to parliament in his place

1964-66: Serves as minister of information and broadcasting

1966: Becomes prime minister after death of Lal Bahadur Shastri

1971: Calls for general election and wins by an enormous margin

– Declares war with Pakistan over Bangladesh

– India’s first satellite launched into space

1973: Demonstrations in country over soaring prices and corruption

1974: India tests nuclear device.

June 1975: High Court of Allahabad finds her guilty of illegal practices during election campaign; ordered to vacate her Lok Sabha seat.

– Declares state of emergency. Thousands jailed.

1977: Calls for early elections but loses.

– Faces charges of corruption and authoritarianism, is expelled from parliament and is imprisoned.

1978: Released from prison

– Resigns from Congress

– Becomes leader of Indian National Congress

– Wins seat through by-election

1980: Re-elected as prime minister

– Sanjay Gandhi, her youngest son, dies in plane crash

June 1984: To crush secessionist movement in Punjab, she launches Operation Blue Star. Sends troops into the Golden Temple of Amritsar.

Oct 31, 1984: Indira Gandhi is assassinated by her Sikh bodyguards.