Home Sports South Africa win toss, choose to bat in Kolkata

South Africa win toss, choose to bat in Kolkata


Kolkata: South African skipper Graeme Smith won the toss and decided to bat first in the second cricket Test against India at the Eden Gardens here Sunday.

India made one change from the side that played in the first Test at Nagpur, bringing in V.V.S. Laxman in place of Wriddhiman Saha.

South Africa, on the other hand, had to leave out Mark Boucher who was down with back spasm. Opener Alviro Petersen will make his debut as Bocher’s replacement.

The teams:

India: M.S. Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, M. Vijay, Sachin Tendulkar, S. Badrinath, V.V.S. Laxman, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma and Amit Mishra.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Ashwell Prince, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, A.B. de Villiers (wicketkeeper), J.P. Duminy, Alviro Petersen, Dale Steyn, Paul Harris, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell.

Umpires Ian Gould (England) and Steve Davies (Australia). TV umpire: Ameish Saheba (India). Match referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe).