Home India Politics BSP wins remaining seats in Uttar Pradesh council poll

BSP wins remaining seats in Uttar Pradesh council poll


Lucknow: The ruling Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won all the three remaining seats of the Uttar Pradesh legislative council, counting for which was held Thursday.

Even as the Election Commission was yet to announce the results for the three seats – Aligarh, Meerut-Ghaziabad, and Bulandshahr, sources in the poll panel said all the three seats went to the BSP, taking its total to 34.

Re-polling for the three seats took place Wednesday after some complaints were registered with the Election Commission.

Results of 33 seats were announced Wednesday with the BSP registering victory on 31, the Congress and the Samajwadi Party (SP) won only one seat each, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) could not even open its account.

Polling for the Uttar Pradesh legislative council to elect 36 representatives from 35 local authority constituencies took place Jan 7 with around 90 percent of the electorate exercising their franchise.