Home India Politics Court reserves judgment on Karnataka legislators’ plea

Court reserves judgment on Karnataka legislators’ plea


Bangalore : The Karnataka High Court Tuesday concluded hearing arguments over the plea of five independent legislators against their disqualification from the assembly for rebelling against Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa.

The court did not indicate when it would give the ruling on the petition of P.M. Narendraswamy, Gulihatti Shekhar, D. Sudhakar, Shivaraj Thangadagi and Venkataramanappa. They have challenged speaker K.G. Bopaiah disqualifying them Oct 10 last year.

The five, along with 11 ruling Bharatiya Janata Party law makers, were unseated by Bopaiah for rebelling against Yeddyurappa.

The disqualification was ordered a day ahead of Yeddyurappa sought vote of confidence of the assembly.

Following the rebellion the Yeddyurappa ministry lost majority in the 225-member house (including one nominated) and the chief minister was told by Governor H.R. Bhardwaj to seek the trust vote.

Yeddyurappa won the vote amid bedlam as opposition Congress and Janata Dal-Secular protested disqualification of 16 law makers, which gave the chief minister a slender majority.

The speaker justified his decision to disqualify the rebels under the provisions of the anti-defection law.

The independents’ plea was heard by Justices Mohan Shanthanagoudar, Abdul Nazeer and A.S. Bopanna.

The disqualification of 11 BJP rebels has been upheld by the high court. They have appealed against it in the Supreme Court.