Home India News Five army men named for Kirti Chakra, 21 to get Shaurya Chakra

Five army men named for Kirti Chakra, 21 to get Shaurya Chakra


New Delhi : Five army men were Tuesday named for Kirti Chakra, the country’s second highest peacetime gallantry medal, including one posthumously, and 21 others for Shaurya Chakra, the third highest gallantry medal during peacetime, by President Pratibha Patil on the eve of 62nd Republic Day.

Though no one was named for Ashok Chakra, the highest peacetime gallantry medal, Patil will confer the medal on Major Laishram Jyotin Singh, an army medical officer killed during a terror attack on the Indian embassy in Kabul, Afghanistan, Feb 26 last year. He was named for the award on the eve of the Independence Day last year.

Among the Kirti Chakra awardees are Captain Deepak Sharma, who has been named for the medal posthumously for an act of bravery during a gunfight with terrorists in Pulwama district of Jammu and Kashmir March 4 last year.

The other Kirti Chakra awardees are Major Rahul Gurung, who will receive it for an operation against insurgents in Manipur Feb 17 last year, Lieutenant Vikas Sharma for a gunfight with terrorists in Bandipora forest of Jammu and Kashmir Aug 11 last year, Lieutenant Vikrant Ajit Deshmukh for a search operation in Kupwara district of Jammu and Kashmir June 27 last year, and Naik Rajinder Singh for a search operation and gunfight with terrorists in Baramulla district of the border state Aug 29 last year.

The president also named an Indian Air Force officer for Shaurya Chakra for saving a Russian-origin MiG-27 aircraft after a snag while being airborne at 9,500 feet.

Flight Lieutenant Manish Arora was flying the MiG-27 when the canopy of his aircraft burst leading to injury to him and damage to the aircraft’s cockpit. The fighter pilot recovered from the mishap quickly to get the aircraft to safety.

Other Shaurya Chakra awardees include five army men, who will receive it posthumously.

In all, the president named 440 gallantry medal and awards this year.