Home India Politics Monsoon session of parliament Aug 8-Sep 7

Monsoon session of parliament Aug 8-Sep 7


New Delhi : The monsoon session of parliament will begin Aug 8 and end Sep 7, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal announced Wednesday.

“Following instructions from Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, I have written to the president to convene the monsoon session from Aug 8,” Bansal told IANS.

The session will end Sep 7, he said.

The monsoon session, which usually starts in July, got delayed due to the presidential election July 19 and the vice presidential poll Aug 7.

According to sources, the prime minister took the decision on convening the session as the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs, which normally decides the dates, has not met. The government is yet to appoint a leader of the Lok Sabha after Pranab Mukherjee was nominated by the ruling United Progressive Alliance (UPA) for the presidential election.