MP polls: 7 ministers in Shivraj team lose

    By IANS,

    Bhopal : The Bharatiya Janata Party may have registered a hat-trick of wins in Madhya Pradesh but seven of its ministers have lost in the assembly polls.

    The party fielded 30 of the 33 ministers in the elections.

    Laxmikant Sharma lost to Goverdhan Lal (Congress) in Sironj by 1,584 votes. Similarly, Ajay Vishnoi was defeated by Nilesh Awasthi (Congress) in Patan by over 12,000 votes.

    Anoop Mishra, nephew of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, lost to Lakhan Singh (Congress) from Bhitarwar by over 6,500 votes.

    Ramkrishna Kushmaria was defeated by Vikram Singh alias Nati Raja (Congress) from Rajnagar (8,500) and Brijendra Pratap Singh fell to former Congress minister Mukesh Nayak from Pawai (11,500) while Harishankar Khatik from Jatara and Karan Singh Verma from Ichchawar also bit the dust.