Telescope facility inaugurated at AMU

    By TCN News,

    Aligarh: Prof. Sultana N. Nahar, one of the four member delegation of Ohio State University, USA visiting AMU, inaugurated the Telescope Facility at the Department of Physics, Aligarh Muslim University here on Tuesday. An award giving ceremony to felicitate the best teacher and students of the department was also held on this occasion.

    Addressing the people on this occasion, AMU Vice Chancellor, Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Zameer Uddin Shah said that awards and appreciations encourage teachers and students and provide as an impetus to work harder to achieve excellence. He emphasized that the opportunities for higher education and research should be availed by the students in order to achieve successes at international level. He lauded the efforts of Department of Physics and urged the students to devote maximum time on their study.

    AMU Vice Chancellor and the visiting delegation of Ohio State University with the award winners

    Brigadier (Retd.) S. Ahmad Ali, Pro-Vice Chancellor, said that positive thinking and broad vision always brought good results. He said four AMU students will be selected for further study in Ohio State University, where academic and research capabilities of the selected students will be shaped and sharpened to take on the future challenge.

    Eminent research scientist of Ohio University, Prof. Sultana Nahar, in her keynote address, said that every day we should learn and keep ourselves updated with the latest developments in the field of science and technology. She said that all human have equal brain irrespective of their gender and the need is to put it in use and application in proper direction. She said learning is a continuous process and shyness should not be a hurdle in learning and gaining more knowledge.

    AMU Vice Chancellor Lt. Gen. Zameer Uddin Shah switching on the high end telescope at the Dept. of Physics

    Earlier, in his welcome address, Prof. Rahimullah Khan, Chairman, Department of Physics, said that AMU’s service to the Indian nation in general and Muslim community in particular as front-runner premier educational institution is crucial in social and cultural engineering. He said to strengthen the astronomy and astrophysics teaching, the department has acquired a Celestron CGE Pro 1400 HD state of the art German equatorial mount computerized Telescope with 40,000 object data base.

    Prof. Khan said that the telescope at AMU will be a gift to the schoolchildren and college and university students. It would help in exposing young minds to the implicit knowledge of physical truths. Now the craters on the moon, rings of Saturn, equatorial bands on Jupiter, crescent of Venus will be spectacular features to watch. He said that the Moon, bright comets, binary stars, galaxies and its binary nebula, cluster of stars and a few other objects can be stunning to look at through the telescope.

    Prof. Abdul Qayyum, Convener of the function conducted the program.

    Ms. Sultana N. Nahar, visiting guest from Ohio State University inaugurating the high end telescope at the Dept. of Physics

    Prof. Sultana N. Nahar, Lt. Gen. Zameer Uddin Shah, Brigadier S. Ahmad Ali and Prof. Mehshar Raza, Dean, Faculty of Science gave away wards and prizes to the winners under various categories. The Best Student Prize for 2013 at undergraduate level was given to Miss Aiman Fatima and Mr. Wadud Shaikh with a cash prize of Rs. Ten Thousand and certificate. Alumni Award 2013 for M.Sc. (Final) was given to Miss Ankita Saxena and Mr. Abdul Ahad with a cash prize of Rs. 5 thousand and certificate. Alburj R. Rahma Best Thesis Prize 2013 was given to Ms. Huma Haider and Mr. Mohd. Rafi Alam with a cash prize of Rs. 15 thousand and certificate while Sultana N. Nahar Teacher of the Year 2013 Award was given to Dr. Nasra Neelofar from Women’s College and Dr. Mohd. Sajjad Athar from Department of Physics with a cash prize of Rs. 20 thousand and certificate. The Distinguish Teacher of the Year 2013 Award was given to Dr. Shabbir Ahmad with a cash prize of Rs. 20 thousand and certificate.

    The members of Ohio University delegation interacted with steering committee members and investigator in project, faculty members of the Science and Life Science sections at the Women’s College and members of the Nanotechnology Centre, Department of Applied Physics.