Home Adivasis BJP, Congress, AIUDF win one seat each in Assam bypolls

BJP, Congress, AIUDF win one seat each in Assam bypolls

Guwahati : The BJP, the Congress and Lok Sabha member Badaruddin Ajmal’s AIUDF party Tuesday won one assembly seat each in the byelections in Assam, an official said.

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s winning spree in Assam in the Lok Sabha polls continued Tuesday as the party snatched one seat from the Congress in the bypolls held Sep 13 for the three legislative assembly constituencies of Silchar, Lakhipur and Jamunamukh.

The BJP snatched the Silchar assembly constituency from the Congress.

The Congress – the ruling party in Assam – had to content itself by retaining the Lakhipur seat, while the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) retained the Jamunamukh seat in Nagaon district.

In the 2011 assembly polls, Silchar and Lakhipur were won by the Congress while the AIUDF won from Jamunamukh.

BJP candidate Dilip Kumar Paul got 74,898 votes in Silchar, while the Congress candidate Arun Dutta Majumdar got 37,457 votes.

AIUDF candidate Nur Ahmed Barbhuyan polled only 11,203 votes, Assam Deputy Chief Electoral Officer P.K. Doley said.

In Lakhipur, Congress candidate Rajdeep Goala, son of deceased sitting legislator Dinesh Prasad Goala, got 39,159 votes against 29,322 polled by the BJP’s Sanjay Thakur.

The AIUDF’s Mukesh Pandey came third with 22,590 votes.

In Jamunamukh, AIUDF candidate Abdur Rahim Ajmal, who is the son of party chief Badaruddin Ajmal, got 62,153 votes.

Congress candidate Bashir Uddin Laskar got 39,194 votes, while the BJP’s Bilal Uddin got 13,868, the deputy CEO said.

The bypoll for Silchar was necessitated after Congress legislator Sushmita Dev was elected to the Lok Sabha, while Jamunamukh seat was vacated by AIUDF leader Sirajuddin Ajmal after he got elected to the Lok Sabha from Barpeta.

Lakhipur fell vacant after the death of sitting legislator and former minister Goala.

Assam’s regional political party Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) stayed away from the bypolls held Sep 13 that recorded a turnout of 67.87 percent.