Urdu teachers honored by Urdu Academy in Andhra Pradesh

By TCN Staff Reporter,

Hyderabad: Urdu teachers from around the state were felicitated for the service rendered by them for the promotion of the language. Andhra Pradesh Urdu Academy organized Urdu best teachers award on a significant level at MadinaEducation Center in Hyderabad. As many as 43 Urdu teachers fromdifferent schools, colleges and universities in various districts including Warangal,Vishakapatnma, Ranga Reddy and Kurnool were honored with best Urdu teacher award.

Started in 2008 this venture by AP Urdu Academy is to promote self confidence among the teachers striving to promote the language in the region hostile to it. Minority Affairs minister Mohammed Ahmedullah presided over the award function and promised that from next year 100 teachers will be selected for the award and the prize money will also be increased.

Although the prominent Urdu teachers received prize money of Rs. 5,000 and a Memento but it nonetheless is important for them because it gives recognition to the hard work they are putting in to survive and promote the language. Mohammed Ahmedullah said four-member committee has selected the names for the awards with transparency,and honesty is maintained while finalizing the names.

Mohammed Ahmedullah who himself finds difficult to communicate in Urdu in his brief speech assured the employees of AP UrduAcademy that their salaries will be increased keeping in mind the rising inflation. He also said AP Govt. is allocating enough money to promote Urdu language, comparing with other states.The Minister pointed out that Rajasthan has only Rs35 lakh as annual budget for Urdu Academywhile Andhra Pradesh allots Rs7.40 crore every year. He also wished that AP Urdu Academy with the implementation of new five point plan will stand top in the nation.

Director of AP Urdu Academy S.A. Shukoor addressed the program and congratulated the award winners. Some of the Best Urdu teacher award winners were Mrs. Fatima Parveen (O.U), Dr. HabeebNisar (H.C.U), Dr. Fatima Asif (principal college of languages) and Dr. S.M. Azmatullah (N.T.C) etc.