AMU Women’s College: Naba Naseem elected as President

By Siddhant Mohan,

In the student union polls held on Monday. AMU Women’s college elected Naba Naseem, a second-year student from BA, as its president.

Support TwoCircles

Naba Naseem managed to get 916 votes, while Neha Kirmani bagged second position with 847 votes. Umama Haseem bagged the third place with 97 votes.

The fight for the post of vice-president was tougher as all the three contesting candidates finished close. The winner of vice-president post Nida Akram, student of B.Com 3rd year, bagged the post with 641 votes. The first runner up Sara Dilshad managed to get 615 votes while the third place went to Madiha Zaeem, who got 609 votes in total.

For the post of Hony. Secretary, Fabeha Ahmed was elected with 978 votes while Shazia Imam managed second place with 880 votes.

A total of eight cabinet members were elected following the polls between nine candidates. Aresha Khan with 1,694 votes, Asra Parvez Ahmed Khan with 1,692 votes, Aliya Naaz with 1,667 votes, Khan Ayela Ishrat Ali with 1,643 votes, Oroosa Anwar with 1,580 votes, Sibtey Sughra with 1,559 votes, Kehkashan Samar with 1,537 votes and Sharba Tasneem with 1,439 votes were the candidates who made to the cabinet of Women’s college union.

According to our sources, the polling concluded peacefully at AMU’s women’s college. The union election at the Women’s college was earlier scheduled to take place on December 5, but it was later postponed to December 11 due to municipal elections in the Uttar Pradesh.