Home Sports Yuvraj, Zaheer back among top 20 in one-day rankings

Yuvraj, Zaheer back among top 20 in one-day rankings


Dubai : Match winning performances by India's Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan pushed them up among the top 20 in latest one-day players' rankings released by the International Cricket Council (ICC) here Monday.

Singh with 685 rating points is now ranked 19th in the batsmen's list while Khan moved up two places to the 20th spot with 604 points in the bowlers' list. India vice-captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni is still the highest ranked Indian batsman at the sixth place with 736 points, though he dropped two places, while captain Rahul Dravid is ranked 14th with 711 points.

Among the other Indian bowlers, Ajit Agarkar (644) moved up three places to the 12th spot while Harbhajan Singh (618) is 17th.

Yuvraj scored an unbeaten 49 to level the three-match series against South Africa and then stroked a masterful 61 not out on Sunday to steer India to a six-wicket victory that gave his team a 2-1 series win in Belfast, Ireland.

Though Khan missed the side's tour opening game against Ireland, he came back for the series against South Africa and took three wickets in as many games.

England's Kevin Pietersen (823) still occupies the top batting spot in the list with Australia captain Ricky Ponting (799) in the second place.

Besides Ponting, there are five other Australians inside the top 10. Mike Hussey (766) is third and is followed by Matthew Hayden (746) at the fourth place. Adam Gilchrist (729) is seventh while Michael Clarke (728) and Andrew Symonds (726) are eighth and ninth respectively.

South African Shaun Pollock (894) is still the No.1 bowler and is closely followed by Australian Nathan Bracken (794) in the second place. Makhaya Ntini (705) gained one place to sit in sixth place in the bowling rankings while his teammate Andre Nel (664) has maintained his spot at 10th.

Ranking's list:


1. Kevin Pietersen (England) 823 rating points
2. Ricky Ponting (Australia) 799
3. Mike Hussey (Australia) 766
4. Matthew Hayden (Australia) 746
5. Ramnaresh Sarwan (West Indies) 742
6. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India) 736
7. Adam Gilchrist (Australia) 729
8. Michael Clarke (Australia) 728
9. Andrew Symonds (Australia) 726
10. Graeme Smith (South Africa) 725


1. Shaun Pollock (South Africa) 894
2. Nathan Bracken (Australia) 794
3. Shane Bond (New Zealand) 790
4. Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka) 753
5. Muttiah Muralidaran (Sri Lanka) 741
6. Makhaya Ntini (South Africa) 705
7. Daniel Vettori (New Zealand) 697
8. Brett Lee (Australia) 686
9. Abdur Razzaq (Bangladesh) 673
10. Andre Nel (South Africa) 664


1. Shaun Pollock (South Africa) 496
2. Jacques Kallis (South Africa) 379
3. Chris Gayle (West Indies) 373
4. Andrew Flintoff (England) 370
5. Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) 341