Home Muslim World News Pakistan’s former ruling party chief defeated

Pakistan’s former ruling party chief defeated


Islamabad : In a major upset, Chief of the former ruling Muslim League (PML-Q) Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain lost his seat to his rival of the Pakistan Peoples Party, according to unofficial results.

Ahmed Mukhtar of Peoples Party inflicted defeat on Mr Hussain with the margin of around 10,000 votes in the city of Gujrat in Punjab.

Mukhtar secured 77,072 votes while Hussain bagged 63,797 votes on the National Assembly seat number 105-Gujrat-2.

Hussain was favourt and his defeat is considered as a major upset.

Hussain was the staunch supporter of President Pervez Musharraf and has backed his policies.

He also faced defeat at the industrial city of Sialkot in Punjab.

In another major upsets, former Federal Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed lost both seats to his rival candidates in the city of Rawalpindi in Punjab.

Ahmed faced defeat at the hands of rival candidates of Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) Hanif Abbasi and Javed Hashmi.

Maulana Fazal ur Rehman, leader of alliance of Islamic groups, was defeated by his rival candidate of PPP at the city of Dera Ismail Khan in North West Frontier Province.

Faisal Karim Kundi secured 34,000 votes while Maulana Fazal ur Rehman bagged 16,000 votes in almost one-sided contest.

It was earlier expected that Maulana Fazal would give tough time to his rival but the results show different.