Haji Hussain Ansari is minority welfare minister of Jharkhand

By TCN Staff Reporter,

Ranchi: In a move to extend the cabinet, Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda has given portfolios to various leaders of BJP, JMM and AJSU–all partners in the state government—including Minority Welfare Ministry to Haji Hussain Ansari, MLA from Madhupur constituency.

Arjun Munda was sworn in as Chief Minister along with his two deputies AJSU chief Sudesh Mahto and JMM leader Hemant Soren on 11th September. Since then it was first time when he extended his cabinet yesterday.

R-L: Haji Hussain Ansari with Hemant Soren [Picture by Telegraph]

Haji Hussain Ansari, who is also the chairman of Jharkhand Haj Committee, is the only Muslim face in the list of ministers. After Jharkhand was constituted in 1995, he was the first and only Muslim to become minister in the state.

Mr. Ansari was elected to Jharkhand Assembly on JMM ticket three times from Madhupur Assembly consistency in 1995, 2000 and in 2010 respectively.

Jharkhand has 13.84% of Muslims population. Currently, state assembly has five Muslim MLAs which is highest number of Muslim MLAs in the state so far.

Those 5 Muslim MLAs are Haji Hussain Ansari (Madhupur) and Aquil Akhtar (Pakhur) of JMM, Mannan Mallick (Dhanbad) and Sarfraz Ahmad (Gandey) of Congress and Nizamuddin Ansari (Dhanwar) of JVM (P).