Dalit Sahitya Samman Sammelan held at Imphal

By Dr Syed Ahmed, TwoCircles.net,

Imphal: Awards were conferred to as many as 80 persons working in different fields in recognition of their dedication to their services at the 3rd Rastriya Dalit Sahitya Samman Sammelan held here.

Support TwoCircles

Four teachers who had won national and state awards – namely National Best Teacher Awardee 2014 Kh. Sunita, State Best Teacher Awardee 2014, State Best Teacher Awardee 2014 Ng Praneshori, State Best Teacher Awardee 2014 L. Nirmala and K. Jayenta – were given the awards during the event that was held at the Manipur Press Club, Majorkhul on October 16.

The function, organised by the Dalit Sahitya Academy, Manipur, was attended by Lok Sabha MP T. Meinya and National President of BJRKSSA, New Delhi, Dr. N.S. Khoba as Chief Guest and President respectively.

Founder of K.M. Blooming Higher Secondary School Kh. Menjor, President of All Manipur Working Journalist Union Wangkhemcha Shamjai, President of Japanese Hospital Manipur Rajen Ayangba, and National Secretary of BDSA, New Delhi, Y. Mahendrakumar were present as Guests of Honor.

Noted social worker of the state Thangkam Lupheng, who was conferred the Dr B.R. Ambedkar National Award 2014 for

Social Work by the Dalit Sahitya Academy, New Delhi, was felicitated by the representative of the Dalit Sahitya Academy, New Delhi, by conferring citation and a certificate of honour at the function.

Lupheng, who hails from Nungkha village, Sadar Hill in Senapati district is the President of Kuki Inpi Saikul Gamkhai and the General Secretary of Committee on Protection of Tribal Areas Manipur (CoPTAM).

Floral tributes were paid to photo of Dr BR Ambedkar by those who attended the function. Cultural programme was also arranged as part of the function.

Speaking at the function, MP Meinya said that literature and art are indispensable part of mankind as the two entities collectively act a mirror of a society. “We should engage in consolidating literature by encouraging writers to write more. Writers and others working in different fields with full dedication should be encouraged and appreciated by giving such awards,” he added.