Karunanidhi sends seven names to prime minister to replace Maran


Support TwoCircles

Chennai : With Dayanidhi Maran exiting from the union cabinet as DMK representative, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and DMK chief M. Karunanidhi Monday sent a list of seven party MPs as replacement with union minister A. Raja heading the roll for Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to chose from.

The list was sent to the capital through Karunanidhi loyalist and state power minister Arcot Veerasamy.

Beside Raja, the others are union ministers T.R. Baalu, S.S. Palanimanickam, S. Reghupathy, K. Venkatapathy and Subbulakshmi Jagadisan and veteran trade union leader C. Kuppusamy, DMK sources said.

Baalu represents South Chennai in the Lok Sabha while Kuppusamy was elected from North Chennai.

Maran, who resigned as Communications and IT minister, was issued a show-cause notice earlier Sunday that said his "actions were detrimental to the party" and he should explain why he should not be expelled from the DMK, which is part of the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) in New Delhi.

The DMK administrative committee that met at its headquarters, Anna Arivalayam here, included senior leaders and Karunanidhi loyalists like K. Anbazhagan, Arcot Veerasamy and Durai Murugan.

Undeterred by this notice, Maran said he would "abide by the wishes of the party. I am ready to do whatever the party wants".

Maran is nephew of DMK patriarch Karunanidhi.

Maran said he had not done any wrong and that he was "grateful to the DMK".

"I have served the people to the best of my ability, I have nothing more to say," he said.