Ponting still doubtful for second ODI

By Abhishek Roy, IANS

Bangalore : Australian captain Ricky Ponting, who missed the first one-day international due to a hamstring injury, is still doubtful for the second match in Kochi Tuesday.

Support TwoCircles

“Ricky still needs time to recover. Maybe he would be available after a couple of matches. But nothing is conclusive,” said a member of the team management.

Ponting suffered the injury while batting against Pakistan in a Super Eights match of the recently concluded Twenty20 World Championship. He was then ruled out of the rest of the tournament.


New ICC rules helped India cut down on no balls: Gilchrist

The new International Cricket Council (ICC) rules regarding front foot no balls helped India cut down on illegal deliveries during the washed out match Saturday, said Australian captain Adam Gilchrist.

“India didn’t bowl a front foot no ball and I think it will help to eradicate no balls from the game,” said Gilchrist.

According to new ICC rules, if a bowler bowls a front foot no ball, the following delivery will be deemed a free hit and the batsman cannot be dismissed by the bowler from that delivery. He can only be run out.