Bhiwani officials shunted out after police firing


Chandigarh : The Haryana government Monday evening shunted out the deputy commissioner and the superintendent of police of Bhiwani district following an incident of police firing that left two youngsters dead.

Support TwoCircles

In a major reshuffle in the police department, the state government ordered the transfer of 11 superintendents of police (SPs) of various districts out of Haryana’s 21 districts. Three Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officers, including two deputy commissioners (DCs) have also been transferred.

Bhiwani deputy commissioner Mohammed Shayin has been posted as director (agriculture) in Chandigarh while the SP has been posted as at a commando unit.

Kaithal deputy commissioner Vikas Gupta will be the new DC at Bhiwani while Ambala SP Sibash Kabiraj will be the new Bhiwani SP.

The shifting of the DC and SP of Bhiwani is clearly the result of the latest incident of police firing on residents of Kharak village bear Bhiwani, 300 km from here, Friday in which two villagers were killed.

Villagers were protesting the mysterious death of two people from their village whose bodies were found from a nearby canal.

The Bhupinder Singh Hooda government has been left embarrassed by incidents of police action leading in deaths of common people. A youth, Kuldeep, was recently shot dead by the police in an “encounter” or shootout near Bhiwani in a case of mistaken identity.

The Hooda government, which Monday announced that retired Punjab and Haryana High Court judge Amar Dutt was being appointed to hold a commission of enquiry into the police firing at Kharak village, suddenly withdrew the announcement a couple of hours later. No reason was attributed for the same.

Among other transfers of SPs, C.S. Rao has been shifted from Yamunanagar to Kurukshetra, Subhash Yadav from CID to Sirsa, Amitabh Singh Dhillon from Sirsa to telecommunication (at headquarters), Vikas Kumar Arora from Jhajjar to Yamunanagar, Saurabh Singh from Fatehabad to Jhajjar, K. Venketa Ramana from Kurukshetra to Fatehabad, Y Puran Kumar from Mahendragarh to Ambala, B. Sateesh Bala (awaiting posting) to Jind and Jagwant Lamba from Jind to Mahendragarh.

IAS officer Amneet P. Kumar will be the new deputy commissioner at Kaithal.