Home India Politics By-election date for Lok Sabha, assembly seats announced

By-election date for Lok Sabha, assembly seats announced


New Delhi : The Election Commission Thursday announced the polling date for by-elections to four Lok Sabha and four assembly seats.

The Lok Sabha seats going for by-elections are Betul in Madhya Pradesh and Khalilabad, Azamgarh and Meerut in Uttar Pradesh.

The by-elections to legislative assemblies were announced for Laxmipur in Orissa, Bilgram and Colonelganj in Uttar Pradesh and Kharba in West Bengal.

The poll process will begin simultaneously for all the seats. The date of notification is March 19, polling will be held April 12 and the counting (and declaration of results) will be done April 16. All formalities will be completed by April 18, an election commission official said.

The Election Commission has made arrangements for deployment of para-military forces, use of electronic voting machines and completion of other requirements for smooth conduct of polls.