Six BSP legislators join Congress in Rajasthan


Jaipur : All six Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) legislators in Rajasthan Saturday joined the Congress, giving the ruling party a majority in the state assembly.

Support TwoCircles

“We have joined the Congress to give a stable government in the state. We had sought votes against the misrule of the previous BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) government. Under these circumstances it was our responsibility to provide a stable Congress government, so we decided to join the party,” said Rajendra Singh Gudha, one of the BSP legislators.

The Congress tally in the assembly now stands at 102, above the half way mark of 100. The move has come as a major respite for the ruling party.

The party formed the government with the support of independent legislators but was facing problems since a junior minister, Golma Devi, resigned from the Ashok Gehlot ministry.

Golma, wife of BJP rebel leader Kirori Lal Meena, was elected as an independent from Mahuwa. Political analysts saw her move as a pressure tactic by Kirori Lal Meena to get more seats for his nominees in Lok Sabha elections.

The rebel BJP leader, considered one of the main factors leading to the downfall of Vasundhara Raje’s BJP government, was reportedly angry with the Congress over ticket distribution for the Lok Sabha polls.

He wanted his nominees to fight on seven of the 25 seats in Rajasthan while the Congress was ready to give him only one seat.

Rajasthan goes to polls on May 7.