Home India News 26 Bihar districts declared drought-hit

26 Bihar districts declared drought-hit


Patna : Twenty six of the 38 districts of Bihar have been declared drought-hit, an official said Monday.

The decision was taken in a state cabinet meeting Monday. At a meeting called by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar Sunday, representatives of all political parties assessed the situation and gave their consent to the proposal to declare at least 26 district drought-hit.

Bihar has recorded a 43 percent rainfall deficit so far this monsoon season. This has hit the transplanting of paddy seedlings and the farmers badly.

The districts declared drought-hit include Siwan, Bhojpur, Gaya, Nalanda, Jehanabad, Rohtas and Tehmur.