Muslim leaders opposed to making homosexuality legal

By news desk

New Delhi: 13 Muslim religious and political leaders of Indian Muslims have issued a statement strongly condemning what they called attempts by the Central Government to make homosexuality legal.

Support TwoCircles

There are reports in the media that UPA government is considering repealing Section 377 of the Indian Penal Code. Drafted in 1860, Section 377 is also referred to as ‘Anti-Sodomy Law’ punishes for any un-natural sex between man, woman, and animal.

Muslim leaders in a joint statement said that it not simply a question of repealing an old law but “an attack on the very moral and religious fabric of our society.” The leaders argued that all religious communities of India are “unanimous that homosexuality is a sin and a social evil.”

The statement endorsed by leaders from Jamaat-e-Islami Hindi, All India Muslim Personal Law Board, All India Muslim Majlis-e Mushawarat, Tamilnadu Muslim Munnetra Kazhagam, Jamiat Ulama-e Hind and others urged the government not to give in to the demands of the “miniscule minority.”

Movement for the repeal of the law is led by Naz Foundation, a Delhi based NGO that works in the area of HIV/AIDS and sexual health.

The statement by the prominent Muslim leaders of India warned the the government not to “test the patience of the silent vast majority of the country which abhors such behaviour.” Though the statement ends by a compromise and asks for a debate before changing the concerned law.

Statement is endorsed by:

Maulana Jalaluddin Omari, President, Jamaat-e Islami Hind
Maulana Muhammad Salim Qasimi, Rector, Darul Uloom Waqf, Deoband
Maulana Mufti Mukarram Ahmad, Shahi Imam, Jama Masjid Fatehpuri, Delhi
Maulana Syed Nizamuddin, General Secretary, All India Muslim Personal Law Board
Syed Shahabuddin, Ex-PM & former President, All India Muslim Majlis-e Mushawarat
Mufti Muhammad Arshad Farooqi, Professor, Darul Uloom Deoband
Hafiz Rashid A Chaudhry, Working President, Assama United Democratic Front
Maulana Yasin Akhtar Misbahi, Chairman, Darul Qalam, New Delhi
Abdur Rahim Qureshi, President, All India Taamir-e Millat, Hyderabad
Dr M.H. Jawahirullah, President, Tamilnadu Muslim Munnetra Kazhagam, Chennai
Maulana Abdul Hameed Nomani, Secretary, Jamiat Ulama-e Hind
Maulana Ataur Rahman Qasmi, President, Shah Waliullah Institute, Delhi
Dr Zafarul-Islam Khan, President, All India Muslim Majlis-e Mushawarat