Delhi to go to polls May 7


New Delhi : The national capital will go to the Lok Sabha polls May 7 and the state election commission Monday said it was arranging staff and material.

Support TwoCircles

The Election Commission of India announced that polling for the 15th Lok Sabha would be conducted in five phases beginning April 16.

Delhi, which has seven Lok Sabha constituencies – Karol Bagh (SC), Delhi Sadar, East Delhi, New Delhi, Outer Delhi, South Delhi and Chandni Chowk, will go to the polls in the fourth phase. The counting will be held May 16.

“We are prepared to conduct elections in the national capital. Our voters list is ready and the code of conduct has come into force,” said Delhi’s chief election officer Satbir Silas Bedi.

“We are arranging staff and material to conduct the elections,” she told IANS.

Bedi said Delhi has 11 million voters and more than 360,000 names have been added since the Nov 29, 2008 Delhi assembly elections.

“Last year, we had a staff of 80,000 that conducted elections across the state. We expect that slightly more number of people will be required for the Lok Sabha elections,” she added.

The date for issuance of the election notification is April 11. The last date of filing nominations is April 18 and scrutiny of nominations will take place April 20.

The last date of withdrawal of nominations is April 22.