Third front decision on prime minister after polls: TDP


New Delhi : The third front, which includes the Communist parties, AIADMK, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S), will choose its prime ministerial candidate only after the Lok Sabha polls, TDP leader K. Yerrannaidu said Tuesday.

Support TwoCircles

“We, the third front, will fight elections together. We are in a very comfortable position. I can’t predict how many seats we will get in the elections but we will get a clear mandate to form the government. We will chose our prime minister after the polls,” Naidu, who is currently touring his Srikakulam constituency in Andhra Pradesh, told IANS on phone.

The constituents of the third front will be the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), Communist Party of India (CPI), Forward Bloc (FB), Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), TDP, AIADMK and JD-S.

Naidu said leaders of his party are likely to be present at the election rally being organised by JD-S supremo Deve Gowda near Tumkur in Bangalore on March 12, where the formation of the third front is expected to be announced.

The TDP leader said the “grand alliance” has placed them in a comfortable position in Andhra Pradesh.

“After forming a grand alliance with the Left parties and TRS, we are in a comfortable position in the state,” he said.

Naidu, who was the parliamentary leader of the party in the 14th Lok Sabha, also said that the alliance will soon decide on seat sharing in the state.

“There is no problem among the partners with regards to seat sharing. We will complete it soon,” he said.

Naidu added that film star turned politician Chiranjeevi’s Prajarajyam does not pose a threat to the alliance.

“They (the Prajarajyam) have not even been given an election symbol. They are not at all a threat to us,” he said.