RJD releases list of 25 candidates from Bihar


Patna : The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) Monday announced the names of 25 candidates from Bihar, with party chief Lalu Prasad contesting from two constituencies in the April-May parliamentary elections.

Support TwoCircles

The RJD is contesting 28 out of Bihar’s 40 seats, leaving 12 seats for its ally Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) of Ram Vilas Paswan. Candidates for the remaining three seats – Madhepura, Patna Saheb and Maharajganj – would be announced later, the RJD chief said here.

Announcing the candidates, Lalu Prasad said he would contest two seats – Patliputra, a new constituency carved out of the Patna seat following delimitation, and Saran (known as Chapra prior to delimitation). The party has denied a ticket to sitting Patna MP Ram Kripal Yadav.

He had also contested two seats – Chapra and Madhepura – in the 2004 poll and won both, defeating Janata Dal-United (JD-U) leader Sharad Yadav in Madhepura. The RJD chief retained Chapra and resigned from Madhepura.

The party has re-nominated all the eight ministers – Mohammad Taslimuddin from Kishanganj, Raghuvansh Prasad Singh from Vaishali, Akhilesh Prasad Singh from East Champaran, Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav from Banka, Kanti Singh from Karakat, Raghunath Jha from Valmikinagar and M.A.A. Fatmi from Darbhanga.

It has also paid attention to its traditional social support base of Muslims and Yadavs, fielding nine Yadav candidates and five Muslim candidates.

Other RJD leaders nominated include state legislator Shyam Rajak (Jamui), Jagdanand Singh (Buxar), Shakil Ahmad Khan (Aurangabad), Shakuni Chaudhary (Bhagalpur),and Surendra Yadav (Jahanabad). The party has also fielded JD-U rebels Lalan Paswan (Saharsa) and Rambadan Rai (Munger).

Hina Sahab, wife of jailed Siwan MP Mohammad Shahabuddin, will be the party candidate from the seat. Currently lodged in Siwan jail, Shahabuddin was convicted in seven criminal cases and sentenced to life imprisonment. He is not eligible to contest himself.