Haryana assembly election returns 5 Muslim MLAs

By Twocircles.net newsdesk,

New Delhi: Haryana assembly election result has sprung some surprises. Congress was expecting easy ride back to power and become first party to achieve this feat after 1972. This ride become bumpy and came to a halt short of 6 MLAs due to strong showing by Indian National Lok Dal (INLD). Congress poll managers will ensure that it reaches that magic number.

Support TwoCircles

This time 5 Muslims MLAs become victorious compared to 3 in 2005. It is a impressive performance and can be contributed to facts that most of seats had multi corner fight. Jaleeb Khan contested as independent from Hathin after Congress denied him a ticket and defeated official Congress nominee by margin of more then 6000 votes.

The Jagadhri constituency witnessed a triangular contest among sitting Congress MLA Subhash Chand, former minister Akram Khan of the BSP and former MLA Kanwar Pal of the BJP. Akram Khan defeated Subhash Chand by a margin of more than 4000 votes.
Naseem Khan and Mohammed Ilyas contesting on INLD tickets won comfortably from Ferozepur Jhirka and Punahana respectively.

District Congress president of Mewat, Aftab Ahmed defeated nearest rival Sanjay of BJP by margin of 16904 votes.

In Sohna, Zakir Hussain of Bahuja Samaj Party lost to Dharambir of Congress by only 505 votes.

Four ministers in the Hooda government — Finance Minister Birender Singh, Transport Minister Mange Ram Gupta, Education Minister A.C. Chaudhary, and Cooperation Minister Meena Mandal — as well as state Congress president Phool Chand Mullana lost in the election.

There were 1,222 candidates, including 68 women, in the fray.

Constituency Winner Party Runner Up Party Margin
Ferozepur Jhirka NASEEM AHMED Indian National Lok Dal MAMMAN KHAN Indian National Congress 18194
Hathin JALEB KHAN Independent HARSH KUMAR Indian National Congress 6473
Jagadhri AKRAM KHAN Bahujan Samaj Party SUBHASH CHAND Indian National Congress 4328
Nuh AFTAB AHMED Indian National Congress SANJAY Bharatiya Janata Party 16904
Punahana MOHAMMED ILYAS Indian National Lok Dal DAYAWATI Bahujan Samaj Party 2688