Home India Politics Many big losers in Maharashtra polls

Many big losers in Maharashtra polls


Mumbai: Shiv Sena’s Leader of Opposition Ramdas Kadam led the pack of prominent personalities who lost out in the 2009 Maharashtra assembly elections.

Kadam lost to the Nationalist Congress Party in the Guhagar constituency of coastal Konkan.

He was not alone. There were many other big names from different parties who could not win or retain their seats this time.

The NCP lost its former deputy chief minister Vijaysinh Mohite-Patil in Pandharpur (Solapur district), to a little-known candidate Bharat Bhalke of Swabhiman Paksha.

Former NCP minister Surupsingh Naik was trounced by Sharad Gavit of Samajwadi Party (SP) in Navpur in Nandurbar.

Minister in the outgoing cabinet Siddharam Mhetre was trounced by BJP’s Siddharamppa Patil on Akkalkot seat in Solapur.

Another powerful leader belonging to a family of politicians, Madan Patil was trounced in Sangli by BJP’s Sambhaji Pai.

Former Congress minister Satish Chaturvedi lost to BJP’s Krishna Khopde in Nagpur East.

Former minister Shobha Bachchav lost to Vasant Gite of Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) in Nashik Central seat.

Minister in outgoing cabinet Anees Ahmed lost to BJP’s Sudhakar Deshmukh in Nagpur West seat.

Sada Sarvankar, Sena’s legislator turned rebel, who contested on a Congress ticket, lost to Mahrashtra Navnirman Sena’s Nitin Sardesai in Mahim, Mumbai.

Former Congress minister and senior leader Rohidas Patil lost to Sena’s Sharad Patil from Dhule Rural seat.

Former state revenue minister Shalinitai Patil, wife of former chief minister Vasantdada Patil, who stood as an independent, lost to NCP’s Shashikant Shinde in Koregaon.

NCP’s minister of state Rana Jagatsinh Patil lost to Shiv Sena’s Omraje Nimbalkar from Osmanabad.

Farmer widow, Bebitai Bais lost miserably to Wamanrao Kasawar of Congress in Wani; the sitting Shiv Sena legislator was defeated in what became a direct contest between the two parties.

Poonam Mahajan, niece of senior BJP leader Gopinath Munde, was trounced by Ram Kadam of MNS in Ghatkopar West seat.

Former ace cricketer Vinod Kambli contesting on a Lok Bharati ticket, was trounced by MNS’ Mangesh Sangle, in Vikhroli seat of north-east Mumbai.

Independent and green activist Vivek Pandit trounced the strongman of Bahujan Vikash Aghadi, Narayan Mankar in Vasai seat of Thane district.