Home Indian Muslim Asif Mohammad Khan wrest Okhla seat from Congress

Asif Mohammad Khan wrest Okhla seat from Congress

TwoCircles.net News Desk,

New Delhi, Asif Mohammad Khan won Okhla seat defeating Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Bramha Singh by more than 5000 votes. Asif Mohammad Khan also gave Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) its first win in Delhi.

Congress candidate Farhad Suri came third in the Muslim-dominated constituency, getting 17,804 votes while RJD and BSP polled 23,394 and 18,387 votes respectively.

The elections were necessitated when Okhla legislator Parvez Hashmi was elected to the Rajya Sabha. Khan gave a nailbiting finish to the last poll held in December 2008 with the sitting Congress MLA Parwez Hashmi just managed to win the seat by 500 votes – the seat he won three times in a row with margins of several thousands of votes.