17 doctors get Padma awards


New Delhi: Seventeen doctors, including Ramakant Panda who performed heart surgery on Prime Minister Manmohan Singh last year, and Apollo Hospitals’ founder Prathap C. Reddy were Monday named for different categories of the Padma awards for their meritorious services to medicine.

Support TwoCircles

While Reddy was awarded the Padma Vibhushan, the country’s second highest civilian honour, six doctors were named for the Padma Bhushan, the third highest award.

They are Ramakant Panda, Noshir M. Shroff, Satya Paul Aggarwal (both Delhi), P.K. Warrier, E.T.N. Mooss (both Kerala) and B.M. Hegde (Karnataka).

Among those awarded the Padma Shri, the fourth highest award, are leading liver transplant surgeon A.S. Soin, kidney transplant surgeon Anil Bhalla and heart surgeons K.K. Aggarwal and L.C. Gupta. They are all from Delhi.

B. Ramanna Rao, K.S. Gopinath (both Karnataka), Rabindra Narain Singh (Bihar), J.R. Krishnamoorthy (Tamil Nadu), Phillip Augustine (Kerala) and Vikash Mahatme (Maharashtra) have also been named for the Padma Shri.

“This award means something great. This is a national recognition and I dedicate it to my family, friends, patients and colleagues,” an elated Soin told IANS after his name was announced.

Aggarwal, the president of the Heart Care Foundation of India, said the award recognises his work over decades and establishes that he is “among the top 100 doctors in the country”.

“For me its a great moment. I am absolutely happy and want to thank all my countrymen,” Aggarwal told IANS.