Home India Politics Big win for DMK in Pennagaram bypoll

Big win for DMK in Pennagaram bypoll


Chennai : The ruling DMK Tuesday swept the bypolls for the Pennagaram assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu held March 27 by a big margin.

Party candidate P.N.P. Inbasekaran trounced his nearest rival PMK candidate G.K.M. Tamilkumaran by a margin of over 36,000 votes. In the four-cornered contest, AIADMK and DMDK were also-rans.

The bypoll saw 84 percent polling. From the beginning, DMK was in the lead with a comfortable margin.

DMK leader and Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi said: “It is victory given by the Tamil Nadu people.”

DMK party workers celebrated the victory bursting firecrackers and distributing sweets at Anna Arivalayam, the party headquarters.

With this victory, the DMK has won all assembly bypolls held in the state after it came to power in 2006. The DMK will now have 99 legislative members in the state assembly and if, including the speaker it will have 100 members in the 235-seat assembly.