Peace Party upbeat over assembly by-poll result in UP

By TCN News,

New Delhi: Peace Party could not win Lakhimpur assembly seat by-election result of which was announced today, the party is upbeat that it is being preferred by people to many other big parties including Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party in Uttar Pradesh.

Support TwoCircles

While the Lakhimpur seat was retained by Samajwadi Party, the newly formed Peace Party stood second, pushing BJP to 3rd position, Congress to 4th and BSP supported candidate to 5th position. The candidates of all the three major parties forfeited their deposits.

“This is second time in succession that Peace Party has ensured trouncing of major national parties. Four months back in Dumariaganj (UP) by-election, while Peace Party stood 3rd, Samajwadi Party was pushed to 4th and the Congress to 5th position and both had lost their security deposits,” said Dr MJ Khan, General Secretary and spokesperson of Peace Party.

In Lakhimpur seat, Peace Party is understood to have secured over 95% of the Muslim votes, against three Muslim candidates by Congress, BSP and a local party, while Peace Party candidate, Mr. Name Maharaj Mishra was a Brahmin, Khan said adding: “Under the strategy of social harmony and justice to all, PP (Peace Party) had fielded Brahmin candidate in Dumariaganj too. In Dumariaganj also, despite Muslim candidates by both SP and BSP, Muslims had overwhelmingly voted for Peace Party. But in Lakhimpur at 95% muslim votes, this broke all records.”

This is clear indication that in next assembly election in 2012 in UP, Peace Party will emerge as the largest political party, as Muslims are the biggest chunk with 19% votes, followed by 12% votes of the SC caste, represented by BSP in UP, Khan said.

In the final tally in Lakhimpur, Madhur Verma of SP won the seat with 42691 votes, while Peace Party secured 24680 votes, BJP’s Vinod Mishra got 18750, Saif Ali Naqvi (son of Congress sitting MP, Zafar Ali Naqvi) got 14050 and BSP supported Raje Siddiqui, 9,000 votes.

Peace Party president Dr. Ayub will meet the press in Delhi on 29 Nov.