Zaheer nominated in three categories for ICC award


Dubai : India’s speedster Zaheer Khan has been nominated in three different categories of the LG International Cricket Council (ICC) awards 2011.

Support TwoCircles

Zaheer is among the six players nominated from four countries for Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy), Test player of the Year and ODI player of the Year award.

Other cricketers include Jonathan Trott and Graeme Swann from England, AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla from South Africa and Shane Watson of Australia.

The awards will take place in London Sep 12. In addition, there are 11 players who are nominated in two distinct categories.

Apart from Zaheer, there are four Indians nominated for the Test player of the Year award and six for the ODI Player of the Year award.

While Rahul Dravid, Ishant Sharma, Harbhajan Singh and Sachin Tendulkar’s names featur for the Tests, skipper M.S. Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Munaf Patel and Yuvraj Singh are nominated for the ODI award.

Dhoni also figures in the People’s Choice award. Abhinav Mukund has been listed in the Emerging Player of the Year Award.

India’s Jhulan Goswani and Poonam Raut have been nominated for the Women cricketer of the Year award.

This year’s award includes 10 individual prizes and also features the selection of the Test and ODI Teams of the Year and the award to the side that has adhered most to the Spirit of Cricket.

“The LG ICC awards presents a wonderful opportunity for the ICC, in association with FICA and a myriad of cricket fans, to acknowledge and reward the brilliant performances of the world’s best cricketers,” said ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat.

“It is also a chance to look back on some of the great cricketing feats witnessed in the past year, including from our flagship event, the ICC Cricket World Cup. This will be the eighth awards edition.”

The awards will take into account performances by players and officials in the period between August 2010 and August 2011,

It includes high-profile events as the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 in India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, the ICC Intercontinental Cup final, several ICC World Cricket Leagues as well as several bilateral Test and ODI series.