Home India Politics Voting begins in Haryana bypoll

Voting begins in Haryana bypoll


Chandigarh : Voting began in the two assembly seats of Adampur and Ratia in Haryana Wednesday morning amid tight security.

A total of 137,949 electors in Adampur and 176,129 electors in Ratia constituency are eligible to cast their votes, Haryana chief electoral officer Sumita Mishra said.

Voter turnout was initially higher in rural areas as voters lined up before 8 a.m., the official time for commencement of polling, poll officials said here.

The Adampur seat in Hisar district fell vacant last month following the election of Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC) candidate Kuldeep Bishnoi to parliament from the Hisar parliamentary constituency.

The Ratia seat had fallen vacant September this year after the death of sitting Indian National Lok Dal legislator Gian Chand Odh following illness.