Home India Politics Two legislators loyal to Jagan resign for Telangana

Two legislators loyal to Jagan resign for Telangana


Hyderabad : Two more legislators from Andhra’s Telangana region Tuesday submitted their resignations to demand separate Telangana state. Both the women legislators belong to the ruling Congress but are loyal to YSR Congress party chief Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy.

Members of assembly Konda Surekha and K. Satyavati submitted their resignations to the legislature secretary on a day when “people’s strike” began in the region demanding a separate state.

This is the second time that the two legislators have resigned for Telangana. Earlier, their resignations along with those of 100 others from the region were rejected by assembly Speaker N. Manohar.

Surekha and Satyavati along with another legislator Jaya Sudha had not submitted their resignations when 26 others of Jagan group had tendered their resignations last month to protest mentioning of Jagan’s father and late chief minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy’s name in a case registered by CBI against Jagan.

Jaya Sudha, a former actress who represents Secunderabad constituency in the assembly, did not join the other two legislators in submitting her resignation. She is reported to be reconsidering her decision to quit.

In July, over 100 legislators belonging to various parties from Telangana had resigned in July to demand a separate state but their resignations were rejected by the speaker.

All 11 legislators of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and four rebels of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) have submitted their resignations once again but others are reluctant to do so.