Ranji Trophy: Rajasthan bowled out by Punjab


New Delhi: Defending champions Rajasthan were bowled out for a meagre 222 by Punjab at the PCA Stadium in Mohali on the first day of the fifth round of the Ranji Trophy tournament Saturday.

Support TwoCircles

Punjab elected to field in their home match and the decision proved fruitful in just 70.3 overs. Puneet Yadav was the only batsman who could manage a half century as the Punjab bowlers excelled.

Pacer Siddharth Kaul clinched four wickets giving only 63 runs in his 21 overs. Sandeep Sharma and Baltej Singh took three and two wickets, respectively.

At the close of play, Punjab were 20/1 in 17 overs.

Brief Scores:

Group A:

In Valsad: Gujarat 254 for two in 90 overs (Smit Patel 114, Samit Gohel 85, Bhargav Merai batting 45; Anwar Ahmed 1/18) vs Hyderabad

In Mumbai: Mumbai 262 for seven in 90 overs (Wasim Jaffer 80, Abhishek Nayar 62; Laxmi Shukla 4/35, Iresh Saxena 2/101) vs Bengal

In Mohali: Rajasthan 222 all out in 70.3 overs (Puneet Yadav 57, Deepak Chahar 35; Siddharth Kaul 4/63, Sandeep Sharma 3/72, Baltej Singh 2/45) vs Punjab 20 for one in 17 overs

In Rajkot: Saurashtra 227 for four in 90 overs (Ravindra Jadeja batting 111, Shitanshu Kotak batting 53; Krishnakant Upadhyay 2/53, Sanjay Bangar 2/46) vs Railways

Group B:

In Rohtak: Haryana 219 for six in 90 overs (Rahul Dewan 71, Nitin Saini 45, Rahul Dalal batting 42; Parvinder Awana 3/39) vs Delhi

In Sambalpur: Maharashtra 264 for seven in 90 overs (Harshad Khadiwale 43, Ankit Bawne 51, Chirag Khurana 48; Basant Mohanty 2/35) vs Odisha

In Kanpur: Baroda 254 all out in 83.3 overs (Ambati Rayudu 85, Kedar Devdhar 65; Ankit Rajpoot 4/62, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/33, Piyush Chawla 3/78) vs Uttar Pradesh 18 for none in 6 overs

In Nagpur: Tamil Nadu 235 for three in 90 overs (Subramaniam Badrinath batting 101, Dinesh Karthik 49; Shrikant Wagh 2/57) vs Vidarbha

Group C:

In Visakhapatnam: Andhra 240 for five in 87 overs (Prasanth Kumar 48, Syed Sahabuddin 49, Amol Muzumdar batting 56; Saurabh Bandekar 3/62) vs Goa

In Guwahati: Jammu and Kashmir 240 for seven in 90 overs (Parvez Rassol 67, Hardeep Singh; Arup Das 4/58) vs Assam

In Nadaun: Tripura 325 for four in 88 overs (Subhrajit Roy 111, Abbas Ali 83, Ajay Ratra batting 55; Rishi Dhawan 2/83) vs Himachal Pradesh

In Delhi: Kerala 192 for five in 85 overs (VA Jagadeesh batting 126; Suraj Yadav 2/52) vs Services.