Home India News Villagers shun Chhattisgarh ‘carnage’ probe

Villagers shun Chhattisgarh ‘carnage’ probe


Raipur : The T.P. Sharma judicial commission, probing the killings of two people in police action in four Chhattisgarh villages, completed its two-day sitting but without recording statements of victims and villagers, who failed to turn up.

Sources in the divisional commission office Saturday said the victims and villagers of Tarmeta, Morpalli, Timmapuram and Dornapal again failed to turn up before the probe panel to record their statements in what is known as the TMTD carnage case.

About a dozen witnesses recorded their statements before the panel which held the hearing for two days in the court of the divisional commissioner of Jagdalpur, Manoj Kumar Pingua.

Most of the persons who turned up before the commission were Special Police Officers (SPOs) or Salwa Judum leaders who had participated in the four-day operation along with security forces of the Chintalnar camp at Tarmetla, Morpalli, Timmapuram and Dornapal villages.

Police forces had allegedly killed two people and torched over 100 houses in the four villages of Tarmetla, Morpalli, Timmapuram and Dornapal between March 11 and 15, 2011. The police action was supposed to be in revenge for the killing of 76 CRPF troopers on April 6, 2010, in Tarmetla, one of the worst massacres by Maoists in any state.

On the first day of the hearing, the commandant of CoBRA battalion of the CRPF, Sunil Kumar, recorded his statement. Other witnesses also narrated the events to the commission in detail.

But not a single villager from any of the four affected villages or former legislator and president of Adiwasi Mahasabha Manish Kunjam turned up before the commission.

The next hearing of the commission will be held August 16-18.

The commission held its last hearing June 5, but then too no villager turned up. Only three witnesses – Sukma Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) D.S. Marawi, sub-divisional officer of police (SDOP) Manish Sesodiya, and CRPF Commandant R.K. Sahaye – gave their statement before Justice T.P. Sharma.

The Supreme Court formed the T.P. Sharma judicial commission for a thorough and impartial investigation of the case June 11, 2011.