DMK in discussion with all parties ahead of Rajya Sabha poll

    By IANS,

    Chennai : DMK president M. Karunanidhi Thursday said the party would talk to all parties seeking their support for its candidate in the June 27 Rajya Sabha elections.

    Speaking to reporters here, Karunanidhi said: “We have not asked for support from any particular party. We will generally talk to all the parties.”

    He said the issue of Rajya Sabha elections was not discussed at Wednesday’s meeting of the party’s members in the Tamil Nadu assembly.

    The June 27 elections for the Rajya Sabha would elect members who would replace six people set to retire.

    The six members who will retire on July 24 are: A. Elavarasan and V. Maitreyan from the AIADMK, Tiruchi N. Siva and Kanimozhi from the DMK, B.S. Gnanadesikan of the Congress and D. Raja of the CPI.

    The AIADMK has already announced its candidates list that comprises V. Maitreyan, K.R. Arjunan, T. Rathinavel, R. Lakshmanan and Thangamuthu.

    While the AIADMK has a strength of 151 (including the speaker) in the 235-member house, the DMDK has 29 legislators, the DMK 23, CPI-M 10, CPI eight, Congress five, PMK three, MMK and PT two each, Forward Bloc one and nominated member one.

    A candidate needs 34 votes to get elected, and AIADMK is expecting to romp home with five seats with the help of other friendly parties, and take its tally in the Rajya Sabha to eight from the current five seats.

    Tamil Nadu has 18 seats in the Rajya Sabha, for which elections are held indirectly, and state legislators are eligible to vote.

    According to Election Commission of India, the last date for nominations for the Rahya Sabha polls is June 17. The last date for withdrawals is June 20.

    According to the Election Commission, the counting of votes will begin at 5 p.m. on June 27 and the election will be completed on June 29.