DMDK suspends seven rebel legislators

    By IANS,

    Chennai: The DMDK in Tamil Nadu suspended its seven rebel legislators for not voting for the party candidate in the June 27 Rajya Sabha elections, sources said Saturday.

    The party has also asked the seven legislators – K. Pandiarajan, Michael Royappan, R. Sundarrajan, K. Tamil Azhagan, C. Arun Pandian, T. Sureshkumar and Shanthi – to reply by July 10 why they did not vote for A.R. Elangovan, the party’s Rajya Sabbha poll candidate.

    The DMDK has 29 legislators in the state assembly.

    Elangovan got only 22 votes and lost the elections.