11 in fray in Tamil Nadu by-election

    By IANS,

    Chennai : Eleven candidates are in the fray for the Dec 4 by-election to the Tamil Nadu assembly from Yercaud, the Election Commission announced Wednesday.

    Of the 12 valid nominations, one person withdrew from the contest Wednesday, the last date for withdrawal.

    The fight will be mainly between the ruling AIADMK’s P. Saroja and DMK’s V. Maran. All others are independents.

    The by-election in the hill station, around 360 km from here, was necessitated after AIADMK legislator C. Perumal died in July. Saroja is Perumal’s wife.

    This led to the AIADMK’s strength in the 235-member assembly come down to 150. The DMDK is the second largest party in the house with 29 membres, followed by the DMK with 23.

    This will be the fourth assembly by-election in Tamil Nadu after the AIADMK took power in May 2011. The AIADMK won all three earlier elections at Pudukottai, Sankarankoil and Tiruchirapalli (West) constituencies.

    The election will take place Dec 4 and the vote count Dec 8.