Babulal Marandi, Madhu Koda, Arjun Munda lose in Jharkhand

Ranchi : The result of the Jharkhand assembly polls has shocked heavy weight leaders such as former chief ministers Babulal Marandi, Madhu Koda and Arjun Munda.

Marandi, the first chief minister of Jharkhand and president of the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha, lost the election from both the Dhanwar and Giridih constituencies.

Support TwoCircles

Marandi was defeated by Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) candidate Rajkumar Yadav from Dhanwar. He was also defeated by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Nirbhay Shabadi from Giridih. Marandi came third in Giridih.

Arjun Munda, former chief minister and BJP chief ministerial candidate, lost the election from the Kharsawa constituency. He was defeated by Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Dasrath Gagrai.

Former chief minister and Jai Bharat Samanta Party candidate Madhu Koda lost the election from the Majhgao constituency. He was defeated by JMM candidate Nial Purty by over 29,000 votes.

Madhu Koda’s wife Geeta Koda won from the Jagannathpur constituency in the state.

Chief Minister Hemant Soren won from the Barhait assembly constituency but lost from Dumka.

Former deputy chief minister and All Jharkhand Students Union president Sudesh Mahto lost from the Silli constituency. His party was in alliance with the BJP. JMM candidate Amit Mahto defeated Sudesh Mahto by over 30,000 votes.

BJP candidates Raghbubar Das won from East Jamshedpur constituency, Saryu Raid won from the West Jamshedpur constituency while C.P. Singh won the Ranchi seat.

Jharkhand Congress president Sukhdeo Bhagat lost from the Lohardaga constituency.