Stage set for by-elections in Telangana, Andhra

Hyderabad : The stage is set for by-elections to Medak Lok Sabha constituency in Telangana and Nandigama assembly seat in Andhra Pradesh Saturday.

The election authorities have made all arrangements for the peaceful and smooth conduct of the by-elections, the first after bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

Support TwoCircles

Bhanwarlal, chief electoral officer, Telangana and Andhra Pradesh, said polling will began at 7 a.m. in both the constituencies and will continue till 6 p.m.

Over 15.43 lakh voters are eligible to cast their franchise in the prestigious Medak parliamentary constituency, which was once represented by late prime minister Indira Gandhi.

Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao, whose resignation caused the vacancy, and his wife will cast their votes in their native Chintamadaka village of Siddipet mandal.

A total of 14 candidates are in fray in Medak but it is mainly a triangular contest.

K. Prabhakar Reddy of ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) may have a smooth sailing. He is pitted against BJP-TDP combine’s Jagga Reddy and Congress party’s Sunitha Lakhsma Reddy. Two candidates are from smaller parties while remaining nine are independents.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair elections.

Over 10,000 security personnel have been deployed in the constituency.

In the elections held in April, TRS chief KCR had defeated Shravan Kumar of Congress by 3.97 lakh votes, the highest in undivided Andhra Pradesh and in the history of Medak constituency. He surpassed former prime minister Indira Gandhi’s victory margin of 2.19 lakh votes in 1980.

Polling will also be held Saturday for by-elections to Nandigama assembly constituency in Krishna district of neighboring Andhra Pradesh.

Four candidates are in fray for the bypoll to the seat reserved for scheduled castes. The ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has fielded Tangirala Soumya, daughter of Tangirala Prabhakar Rao, whose death caused the vacancy. Soumya is locked in a direct fight against B. Babu Rao of Congress party. The two other candidates are independents.

Main opposition YSR Congress party has not fielded a candidate, honouring the tradition of supporting family members a deceased legislator.