Home India Politics BJP wins three seats in Uttar Pradesh

BJP wins three seats in Uttar Pradesh

Lucknow : The BJP Tuesday won three assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh bypolls. The party won from Lucknow (East), Saharanpur city, and Noida assembly constituencies.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won three urban constituencies where bypolls were held Sep 13.

BJP candidate Vimla Batham defeated Samajwadi Party candidate Kajal Sharma to win the Noida assembly constituency by a whopping margin of 58,000 votes.

This seat was earlier held by BJP’s Mahesh Sharma who is now a member of parliament. The party also managed to retain the Lucknow (East) assembly seat where its candidate Ashutosh Tandon won by over 25,000 seats.

This seat was earlier held by Kalraj Mishra who later won from the Deoria Lok Sabha constituency. He is an union minister in the Narendra Modi government.

The BJP also managed to win the Saharanpur seat where its candidate Rajeev Gumbar defeated a Samajwadi Party candidate.