Home India News 12 UP cities to get pre-paid power meters

12 UP cities to get pre-paid power meters

Lucknow: In a significant decision, the Uttar Pradesh government has approved pre-paid power meters in 12 cities, an official said on Tuesday.

The Uttar Pradesh Power Corp Ltd (UPPCL) said that in the first phase, these connections would be provided in Lucknow, Varanasi, Allahabad, Basti, Mirzapur, Azamgarh, Aligarh, Meerut, Gorakhpur, Ghaziabad, Kanpur and Noida.

The UPPCL has directed power companies to ensure that consumers who are not in a position to give the charges for the pre-paid meter in one go may be given the facility of 12 instalments.

With this decision, as many as 35 lakh slum dwellers and road-side shopkeepers are likely to be benefited while the power department is also likely to boost its income.