CPI-ML to vote in RS polls to derail BJP

Ranchi : In a bid to ensure that the BJP doesn’t win both the Rajya Sabha seats from Jharkhand, the CPI-ML has decided for the first time to vote in the polls.

The Communist Party of India-Marxist Leninist used to abstain from the Rajya Sabha elections.

Support TwoCircles

This time, however, the party has decided to vote in favour of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM).

The decision is a boost to the JMM, which is making all out efforts to ensure Basant Soren’s foray into the Rajya Sabha. The CPI-ML has just one member in the Jharkhand assembly, Rajkumar Yadav.

Yadav told IANS that although it does not have the required numbers, the Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded two candidates in the Rajya Sabha polls.

“The BJP is trying to encourage horse-trading… due to which we have decided to vote in favour of the JMM.”

The JMM, the Congress and the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha have come together for the Rajya Sabha polls.

The BJP has fielded union minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Mahesh Poddar as its candidates. The JMM has fielded Basant Soren, youngest son of JMM chief and Dumka MP Shibu Soren.

The victory of BJP’s Naqvi is more or less certain. But the party is trying to win the second seat too.

The JMM has the support of 30 legislators, which includes 19 of its own, seven from the Congress, two from the JVM-P and one each from the MCC and CPI-ML.